August 11, 2022

O’Sullivan is now a seven-time world champion.

Ronnie O’Sullivan has won the World Snooker Championship for a seventh time with an 18-13 victory over Judd Trump.

O’Sullivan, 46, has become the oldest world champion in snooker history and, more notably, equalled Stephen Hendry’s record of seven world titles.

The Englishman also won a cheque for £500,000.

Ronnie O’Sullivan wins the 2022 World Snooker Championship.

O’Sullivan went into Monday with a 12-5 lead over Trump after outplaying his opponent in the opening two sessions of the final on Sunday.

Trump, however, mounted a spirited comeback and won Monday’s opening session 6-2 to reduce O’Sullivan’s lead to 14-11.

The world number one, however, won the opening frame of the final session with a break of 82. He followed that with a break of 88 to go within two frames of winning the title.

Ronnie O'Sullivan World Snooker Championship

Yet, Trump delayed O’Sullivan’s coronation by winning the next frame with a nerveless break of 64 to make it 16-12.

The 2019 world champion had a couple of chances to reduce the deficit in frame 29, but couldn’t take them and O’Sullivan won the final frame before the mid-session interval with a break of 75.

Trump then won the first frame back after the interval with a wonderful century break of 109. O’Sullivan, however, won the final frame with a break of 85 to take home the trophy for the seventh time.

After the final frame, there were emotional scenes as the two finalists were in a lengthy embrace.

O’Sullivan wins the World Championship for a record-equalling seventh time.

O’Sullivan is now a seven-time world champion, equalling Hendry’s record, which the Scot has held since winning the last of his world titles in 1999.

See also  Labour frontbencher defies Keir Starmer and backs rails strikes on picket line

On commentary for BBC, Hendry said that O’Sullivan has ‘taken the game to new levels, he really has. He’s got it all’, and that it is an ‘honour’ to share the record with him.

O’Sullivan has won the World Snooker Championship in 2001, 2004, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2020 and 2022.

Related links: