August 11, 2022

A number of tributes were paid to the late comedian during the National Comedy Awards

Fans were left “sobbing” on Saturday night as Lee Mack and the entirety of British comedy paid tribute to Sean Lock at the National Comedy Awards.

The awards were the first to take place since Lock’s sad passing from cancer at the age of 58 in August 2021.

As part of tributes to the comedian, Not Going Out star Lee Mack, who was one of Lock’s closest friends in comedy, recalled going to see his friend Lock whilst he was ill, in a moment that he described as “profound,”

He said: “There was one moment when I went to see him where he just said to me – and he didn’t say this in a ‘I want to make you feel better’ or ‘I’m trying to convince myself’ way; I just knew it was 100 per cent true – he just said to me: ‘I’ve had a really good life, you know.

“It was really… it was so profound the way he said it, ‘cause I thought, ‘He really has,’ because he’s got this fantastic wife, three beautiful kids and he’s spent his life just making millions of people laugh. It’s hard to argue with.”

One viewer said Mack’s story had them “sobbing,” describing Lock as “the best in the game.”

Another wrote: “This bit where Lee Mack was talking about seeing him before he died absolutely ruined me.”

See also  Tom Daley no longer a Harry Potter fan following JK Rowling's trans comments

As part of the awards show, Harry Hill also paid a moving tribute to his close friend.

Harry Hill paid tribute to his close friend in a moving and funny speech (Dave J Hogan/Getty)

After a special tribute film, he was then given a standing ovation by all those present at the awards ceremony.


Host Tom Allen started the show by acknowledging the crisis in Ukraine and the comedy history of Ukrainian president Volodymyr Zelenskyy.

The big winner on the night was the Netflix series, Sex Education, which picked up four awards.

Meanwhile Billy Connolly was awarded the Victoria Wood Lifetime Achievement Award, whilst Sharon Horgan won the Caroline Aherne Outstanding Achievement in Writing Award.

You can find a full rundown of the winners here.

Related links: