September 25, 2022

The charge is part of a system to ‘increase security’ across Europe

UK holidaymakers will soon be charged to enter Spain, Greece, France and Portugal, the European Commission has confirmed.

The fee will be part of the new European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS). This is an IT system that will pre-screen travellers who want to enter any countries in the Schengen area.

The ETIAS had been due to be up and running by next month, but the launch has now been delayed until November 2023.

Twenty-six countries are part of the Schengen area, including France, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, and popular holiday destinations such as Greece and Portugal.

Several non-EU countries are in this group such as Iceland, Norway and Switzerland.

From next year, travellers will need both their passport and a valid ETIAS check to enter any Schengen area countries.

This will then be linked to your passport.

It will cost €7 (£6) to apply for an ETIAS security check. However, once you’ve paid for the check it will last for three years or until your passport expires.

The ETIAS says the system is being introduced to “increase security across the Schengen Area” and that it is expected that most applications made by UK nationals will be approved at this stage.

The EU Commission said: “Non-EU nationals who do not need a visa to travel to the Schengen area will have to apply for a travel authorisation through the ETIAS system prior to their trip.

See also  BBC employee fumes at Gary Lineker over impartiality rules